Magarini Constituency by-election update:

As at 3pm (15th May 2007) Kenyan time a total of 69 polling stations out of the 90 stations in Magarini had forwarded their poll results.

Harrison Kombe of Shirikisho party was leading by a total of 3,700 votes. This is the immediate former MP who is backed by the Kibaki government in the spirit of Government of National Unity (GNU).

He is followed by Jefwa Kingi of ODM with 2,000 votes with Franco Esposito of the Kamlesh Pattni KENDA party in third place with 1,700 votes.

A total of 21 polling stations are yet to forward their results. These are the ones affected by delay of voting materials following heavy rains that made the stations inaccessible. The voter turnout was very low. Magarini constituency has 42,000 registered voters. The Electoral commission of Kenya used KShs 90 million to conduct the by-elections.

Meanwhile Samuel Kivuitu has announced one month voter registration exercise scheduled for June/July.

Bookmark the permalink.